Cheat’s Midweek Apple & Cinnamon Pancakes

Leave a comment

November 11, 2013 by cucchiano

It’s 5.30am…I was working until gone 10pm last night.  I need to somehow find the will to live and, more pressingly, get out of bed.  At a time in the morning where I can only function after multiple cups of tea it is easy to forgo breakfast and grab a croissant (or two!) on the train to work.

Step in the saviour of breakfast.  This is what I eat for breakfast at least three times a week.  It’s cheap, balanced and filling.  You can vary the fruit if you like.  I’m sorry but at 5.30am I will not be making my own pancakes but plainly you can if you have the time!  I would much rather make my own but this is designed to be a quick mid-week fix.  The great thing about these little pancakes is you can stash them in the freezer and peel away two at a time as needed.

And so I give you my cheaters breakfast for one sleepy person ….

You will need 1 dessert apple (any kind), 2 scotch/american pancakes, a sprinkle of cinnamon, 1 tsp of golden syrup or maple syrup and olive oil spray.

  1. Spray a frying pan lightly with oil.
  2. Chop the apple into chunky slices (removing the core)
  3. Allow the apple to sizzle briefly before lightly sprinkling over 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon.  Toss the apples in the oil and spice.
  4. Shift the apples to one side of the pan and put the pancakes in the other side.  Allow to warm or defrost.  Remove to a plate when cooked and pile the apples on top.  Drizzle over the syrup of choice!  Suddenly the day ahead doesn’t look so bad after all : )
Leave a Reply

